Thinking Out Loud – Thursday (#6)

It always amazes me how time flies. I know I haven’t been very active on here in the last few weeks, but I didn’t realize it had been a whole 10 days since my last post. Since it’s Thursday, I’ll link back up with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud, since my mind is a bit scatter brained with thoughts at the moment.

1. Marathon / Fall Racing Schedule –

Well the time has come for my first marathon of the Fall – the Last Chance to BQ in Grand Rapids. If you didn’t check out before, make sure to take a look at all my fall races in the next couple of weeks.

This week has been a whirlwind of emotions surrounding it. I’ve gotten my last couple of training runs in, visited with friends from November Project (some of whom BQ-ed last weekend), started carbo loading, and just have generally been anticipating this weekend. I’m so ready to race!

I’ll be sure to check in post race, hopefully with good news! Here’s a picture from my last marathon in October of 2012 – the Amica Marathon in Newport, RI – a race I was no where near prepared for. I remember hitting the wall at 15/16 and then it was pure misery. Let’s hope that doesn’t happen again this weekend.

My last marathon - Newport Amica Marathon - 2013.

My last marathon – Newport Amica Marathon – 2013.

2. November Project –

I’ve been loving November Project as of late, if I didn’t love it enough before. It’s been filled with fun friends, tons of new people, and even adding in a little bit of new fun with The Breakfast Club.

The Breakfast Club meets on Tuesday/Thursday mornings in Audobon Circle/EMS on Comm Ave. A few weeks ago, I joined in at EMS for 6 miles, and had to cut out early. This week, I got up on Tuesday to do my 7 miles, and was planning to head to Brookline to get the miles in. On the run, I realized that it was almost 6 and that meant the Breakfast Club would be meeting, as I passed them by. I figured I would see what route they were doing and then decide if I would jump in. Well, one of my friends – Alice – was there, and they were doing 6 around the Charles (an area I love), so I hopped right in and it was wonderful! Alice helped me get my marathon pace miles in and we got a nice morning chat in, two things that I can never complain about.

Courtesy of Jenna Fisher and The Breakfast Club.

Courtesy of Jenna Fisher and The Breakfast Club.

On another November Project note, I need to give a wonderful shout out to one of my friends and former roommates, who after saying about 6 months ago (her words, not mine), that she was going to come to Summit Ave, finally made her journey (from Brookline…) last week. I’m so glad she joined us and can’t wait till she joins for a Monday/Wednesday and many more Fridays. The rest of my friends, coworkers, whoever you are – you know you’re always welcome at November Project – just drop your #verbal.

Jackie's First Selfie #NP17

Jackie’s First Selfie #NP17

3. Recipe Exchange –

So a few days ago, a friend of mine, Jane, sent along an email with a Recipe Exchange. This starts with an email that has all the details of the exchange and the ways to send the recipes. Basically, you send one recipe to the person in the first position, and then you forward the email to 20 of your friends (BCC!) and put the person who sent the email to you in the lead position. The email says you should receive 36 recipes by the end (so far I’ve gotten 2 or 3), but nevertheless it’s a great idea.

4. Grand Rapids –

Back to the marathon, and then I promise to stop gabbing about it. The marathon this weekend is in Grand Rapids, MI, a place I have never been to. My family Lake House is about 2 hours away, but alas a different part of the great mitten state. If anyone has any tips for things to do in Grand Rapids – I would absolutely love them. So please share!

Hope everyone is having a great Thursday and is ready for this week to be over. Today’s my last day of work for the week and I’m so excited – first day off of work since I started my new job! Have a great weekend and hopefully I’ll be back at some point this weekend or early next week with a recap of the race.

What are you doing this weekend? Any suggestions for Grand Rapids? Any marathoners for this weekend out there? Share your thoughts!

Final Signature

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Thinking Out Loud – Thursday (#6)

  1. Wishing you the best for your marathon this week! I’ve heard so many great things about November Project, I wish they had one here! 🙂

Leave a comment