Friday Five (#1) – Fall Preview

Since it’s Friday, and a lot of times I find I don’t know what to write about on Fridays, I thought there was no better day to start linking up with the Friday Five from Courtney at Eat Pray Run DC. So here we go with my Fall Preview.

1. Last Chance to BQ in Grand Rapids – September 13

On September 12, I’ll be headed out to Grand Rapids for this marathon. I’m looking to Boston Qualify. While I haven’t talked about this much on the blog, I’ll be sure to fill you all in as the date gets closer and once the race is over. I’m a little superstitious about it all, so I don’t want to talk too much about. Despite a little rut, training has been going really well, so I’m really excited to get out there and race. Did I mention Sam and my Mom are both joining me for the race – very excited!

My last marathon - Newport Amica Marathon - 2013.

My last marathon – Newport Amica Marathon – 2013.

2. Rock ‘n’ Roll Weekend in Philly – September 20 & 21

The weekend after my marathon, I’m going down to Philadelphia for a weekend with my family. One of my sisters attends Villanova University, so we’ll be going down for Parents’ Weekend, which we seem to have turned into Family Weekend through the years. I signed up for the Half Marathon, originally, along with my sister (her 1st half) and my Dad (maybe his 1st half?). I’m really excited that I’ll get to run with them.

My sisters and I after the last Rock 'n' Roll Half in Philly (2013).

My sisters and I after the last Rock ‘n’ Roll Half in Philly (2013).

After signing up, the Rock ‘n’ Roll crew also added a 5k to kick-off the weekend on Saturday, so I’m going to take that on with my younger sister, Karley, who is 10. I can’t wait for all the fun, all the swag, and just a great weekend with the family.

3. Zooma Cape Cod – September 27

And then, the weekend after Philadelphia, Sam and I are heading down to the Cape, for one final weekend for awhile. I’m running the Zooma Cape Cod half marathon on Saturday. While it might not be smart of me to add another race, I love racing, so there’s nothing you can do about it – so I can’t wait to race again that weekend.

Back in June, I went to the Runners’ World Heartbreak Hill Festival Expo, and took one of my best friends from PwC – Meghan – with me (I may have mentioned this). I was so excited, because we went to the Zooma booth, and the woman not only convinced me to sign up, but also Meghan. She’ll be running the 10k on Saturday. Sam’s mom also managed to snag a bib from another blogger – Caitlin – so I’m excited she’ll be running as well!

I’m also excited to give the Zooma series another snot. I haven’t gotten into it much on here, but my friend Jane and I had quite the interesting experience, as every runner did, at the inaugural race experience. I swore I would never run another one of their races, but here I am a little over a year later, gearing up for this race!

Jane and I at the Zooma Chicago

Jane and I at the Zooma Chicago

4. Cambridge Oktoberfest 5k  – October 4

A week after Zooma, I’ll be joining the Nacho crew for a much more lighthearted, but equally, if not more fun, race in Cambridge, MA. This race is a 5k, put on by a man in Cambridge who puts on the best races in the area with the best after parties and with MY FAVORITE RACE SHIRTS – yes, they are that good! So basically, I can’t wait for this. I also think I have a few other friends from BC, who are going to be joining me for it. As I always say – the more the merrier!

5. Bank of America Chicago Marathon – October 12

I know it should probably be over, but the 5th and final race, in the 5 week series – is the Bank of America Chicago Marathon. Of these 5 races, this is the first one I signed up for, but then I convince myself to do others – it doesn’t take much.

I signed up for the lottery back in March? April? sometime around there, not knowing if I would get into the race, but lo and behold – I did! I have quite a few friends running the race, so it should be a lot of fun. Depending on how the first marathon goes, that will be dependent on how I run this race. Hopefully and ideally, it will be a very fun run!

I’m also just excited to get to go to Chicago with a whole slew of my friends and family. It’s going to be a great weekend.

Okay enough about my Friday Five – Fall races.

What are you all running this fall? What are you excited for besides running? Always love to hear your thoughts!

Have a great Labor Day weekend!

Final Signature

 

This entry was posted in Running, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friday Five (#1) – Fall Preview

  1. pickyrunner says:

    You’re race schedule is cray!! I can’t wait to hear about all of them though 🙂

  2. These look like some great races! I’m doing a small 5k in September, then the Baltimore 1/2 in October, followed by the Philadelphia marathon in November! I love so many things about fall except that it is followed by winter! Yuck:)

  3. Sounds like it’s going to be a busy and fun fall for you! They all sound like a blast! I’m looking forward to hearing about them! I’m doing a small 10k in September and the Women’s Running Magazine series half marathon in November. Cannot wait to race in a little bit nicer of weather 🙂

  4. Kaitlin says:

    I’m so impressed with you taking on all those races and can’t wait to hear how it goes! You go girl!!

  5. Tiara says:

    Sounds like an awesome lineup of races! Running my first half (first race ever) out in San Francisco with Nike in October. I’m new to this whole running thing but I’ve always wanted to do it and I haven’t traveled much so it’s an all around win. Good luck with your races and I can’t wait to hear all about them!!!

    • T – that’s awesome. I was trying to get into that race, so congrats for even getting a lottery entry. Good luck with the training and I hope you get the running bug, it’s the best. Thank you!!

  6. You’ve got some exciting races up ahead, I hope you get that BQ!! I’m running in Philly too, both the 5K and the half marathon. Hope you have a great time with your family!

  7. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud – Thursday (#6) | KyntuckyRunner

Leave a Reply

