Post-Workout Fuel

Happy LDW! I hope everyone is having a good start to their Monday, hopefully off from work and just enjoying the day.

After a weekend with my family in town, I’ve dropped them off at the airport and am setting off to enjoy this day via cleaning the apartment, something outside, and hanging out with friends tonight. I overslept through November Project, which was a bit of a bummer this morning, but what can you do. This is actually the second time I’ve done that this weekend and my guess is – I NEED THE SLEEP! I’m always go go go and sometimes we just need to step back.

Enough of that though, I’m here today to tell you about my snacking. With all the running and exercising I do, it makes me quite hungry. While I do my best to not snack periodically throughout the day, often times when I return from a long run, it’s best to grab a little something to keep me going while I stretch and clean up, and before I can get an actual meal. Some of my favorites include:

1. A granola bar – usually packed with all sorts of nuts, grains, dried fruits, and I even love to have some chocolate chips in there.

2. A few nuts – they could be almonds, cashews, pistachios – just something of that nature which helps to give me a little fuel and fill me up, plus most of them are packed with protein.

3. Chips – this might not be my healthiest choice, but boy are they delicious. I love to have these after a long run, when I’ve lost a lot of the sodium in my body because they are a quick way to get my sodium levels back up.

These are just a few of the many snacks I eat post-workout or long run. While this doesn’t reference much of the nutrition, because to be honest, I don’t know all that much about it, there are some great resources to check out the healthiness behind your snacks. Be sure to check out the Healthy Snacks Section at Nuts.com. They have a wide variety of information about how to make your snacks healthier options.

For awhile now, I have been very conscious of my somewhat unhealthy eating and the necessity to improve. With the fall runnings season upon us (think Reach the Beach, half marathons, and the Indianapolis Monumental Marathon on November 7!), this will give me some incentive to incorporate this health information from Nuts.com into my snack choices, that I make nutritious choices and am better fueled, for the busy running schedule yet to come.

How do you snack post-workout? How will this site help you to make healthier choices?

And be sure to checkout our friends at Nuts.com

XOXO

KyntuckyRunner

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

