VERT Sasquatch (TOL #10)

So let’s talk about the VERT Sasquatch race, and what better way to talk about it, than in the TOL Style. This is definitely my favorite link up of the week, so why not join in on the fun. Here are my favorite things about this race.

1. NACHO AC – Last Sunday, I had the pleasure of running the VERT Sasquatch for the 4th year in a row. This was my original race, with the Nacho Athletic Club, 4 years ago, and now I am a very very proud member of the crew. We are such a fast team (6th place out of 50ish teams) and they are the best drinking team!

Nacho AC

2. The Race Organization – If you live in Boston, are a runner, and haven’t run one of the Cambridge 5k Series races, then I have to say – your a wee bit crazy. They are the BEST races, aka 5ks, in Cambridge. The courses are always well planned, with good timing, fast people, and the best part of all – a GREAT post race party, with tons of beer. The head of them all is Eddie – and I can’t thank him enough for putting on all these amazing races.

3. The Race – This race was absolutely a blast. It is just about 2.4 miles through the woods aka The Fells. This is the only time I have ever run in the Fells, each year, but I would love to get back out there more regularly. The course has some uphill with a lot of uneven surfaces, so you have to be very very careful – but that’s why we all love it, right!

I was a little slower than what I would have liked, but with the Half, on Saturday, this was to be expected, so no complaints here.

4. My Aunt was in town from Saturday night until Wednesday morning. She isn’t a big runner, but has been doing some 5ks with her kids, so she decided to join me and I’m so glad she did. I always love having family and friends join for any of my races.

I was told to give the Jake face (my cousin doesn't smile in post race pictures).

I was told to give the Jake face (my cousin doesn’t smile in post race pictures).

5. The Party – The post race party at this race is one of the best. It’s held at the Stone Zoo, and hosts three breweries – Night Shift, Slumbrew, and Downeast Cider – all of which I believe are local to the Boston area. They keep the drinks flowing, and they are always nice and cold after such a hot race. There’s also a dance party, with prizes!

I’m off to another race tonight – The Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5k – in South Boston. Leaving in a little bit with a few coworkers. I’ve done this race for the past three years, so I’m hoping to best my time from last year – we’ll see what happens, as I was at FlyWheel this morning!

XOXO

Have you ever run a trail race? Any races this weekend?

 

This entry was posted in Boston, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

