Shipyard Old Port Half Marathon

This past weekend I had the pleasure of heading up to Portland, Maine, for the Old Shipyard Port Half Marathon. I had not been to the state of Maine, since I went for a wedding in the 5th grade, so I was very excited to explore Portland.

 

Katie and I headed up after work on Friday, and made it from downtown Boston, in just about 2 hours (I thought it was impressive!). We decided to head downtown to check out the starting area. The expo and packet pickup were only supposed to go until 8, so we didn’t expect to make it. As soon as we got close though, we saw lots of people and Katie had me make a run for it. I grabbed our bibs (unfortunately no shirts, although we did buy them), and we walked around for a bit. The expo didn’t have much, but that’s the beauty of a smaller race.

We were staying out by the airport, so we opted for dinner in downtown Portland at the White Cap Grille. The food was pretty good, and was just perfect for what we needed that night – salads with lots of protein. From dinner we walked around and back to the car, then headed for the hotel to hit the hay.

IMG_3101

With the 7 AM start, the alarm clock had us up at 5:00 in order to get back downtown. I was glad we just got down there, with plenty of time to spare. Once down at the Gateway, we walked around, got some water, and just tried to hang out. There were quite a few people, which was amazing. And both Katie and I ran into people we knew – love the running community.

The race started at 7 AM and we were off. Katie was gone before I even blinked (she’s speedy!), and I decided before hand that I was going to try to “negative split.” Well within seconds, this negative splitting turned into just trying to take the course as I could, with the hills, which then turned into – I’m going to SnapChat the race!

IMG_3117

My phone was in my pocket, which was annoying, so I grabbed it and proceeded to take the story at various points along the course. If I can get it on here, we’ll even have the video of it. Rumor has it that the sound quality is bad, I need to get better at that, but it’s a gem. Please share. Am I the first person to ever SnapChat story, a half marathon? If you know, let me know.

The course was absolutely beautiful, but a scorcher. There were a few hills, around miles 4 and 6, which really kicked me. Thank goodness for Summit Ave though or I don’t know what I would have done. Overall, I loved the course and most definitely would go back up again – although I hear Portland has lots of other great races.

My time was: 1:49:06. Given the conditions and my antics, I thought this was very respectable. I ended up with a 1st in the Filly Division too, which was good enough for a beer stein. Great race, great times, great people, great course, and the greats go on and on.

We got lunch afterwards at the Port Hole on the water and walked around. There were quite a few great restaurants and shops around. I managed to get a few donuts at Holy Donuts too, which we are still enjoying at home!

IMG_3120

Back with my Sunday race soon…

XOXO

Did you race this weekend? What’s your favorite course?

This entry was posted in Boston, Running, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shipyard Old Port Half Marathon

  1. Liked this just for the November Project swag. #earnit

  2. Alaina says:

    I ran this 5K last year! I love Portland and this course. Another great race is the Maine Half Marathon at the end of September. I’ve done that one twice. 🙂

  3. RunMomMe says:

    I’m a west coast girl but I love Portland. Worked at a summer camp near there and went there during a camp break. Gritty McDuffs was the bar we went to before a sunset cruise around the bay. Loved loved loved it.

  4. Congrats on your time and winning a beer stein!! That’s so cool! I raced, but it was an open water swim. It was just for fun – I’m a strong swimmer but not a fast swimmer by any means!

  5. Pingback: VERT Sasquatch (TOL #10) | KyntuckyRunner

  6. Congratulations on the prize! I have not used SnapChat during a race, but once when I was going into a half marathon injured, I decided to live tweet the race to help me finish the walk/jog journey. It was fun getting encouragement along the way!

Leave a Reply

