USA’s Birthday

Well we’re back at work on this beautiful (?!?) Monday. I came home last night, turned on my computer, in hopes to potentially blog, and got the 3 beep from my Mac. The irony of the situation is that I had been trying to talk my Dad into getting me a new computer, just a few hours before…it’s like they know!

I spent the weekend at Devils Lake in Michigan. This is where my family has been going since I was born and it’s been a place for my family, for far longer than that. I LOVE going back, year after year, with various members of my extended family. We were lucky enough to have everyone from my Dad’s side this year, plus 4 significant others, giving us a grand total of 25. It’s such a treat to have everyone there and I loved showing it to Sam.

Paddleboarding on the Lake.

Paddleboarding on the Lake.

The days were filled with jet skiing, pontooning, lots of beer, some running, and just hanging out with the fam – something I don’t get enough of at any other time of year.

Lounging on the Lake.

Lounging on the Lake.

On Saturday, we went over to the Devil’s Lake Firecracker 7k. This was the 4th year for the race and the 2nd time I have run it. This year, I had my parents, sister, and two uncles join us for the run/walk. It was a great time had by all. The competition was tough this year, and I was able to manage a 4th place overall female, and 1st place in my AG with a 30:50, just about 20 seconds slower than last year. I haven’t been doing much speed work, so I’ll take it.

Family at the 7k.

Family at the 7k.

That’s all for now. I’m trying to plan out my fall / spring racing. If anyone has suggestions, let me know.

 

What’s on your race calendar? Did you run a Fourth of July race? What’s up for this week?

 

 

This entry was posted in Running, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to USA’s Birthday

  1. pickyrunner says:

    You should come do Newport half when I do the full:)

  2. Nice job on your race! I ran a 15K on the 4th. Gorgeous pictures of your trip – I love Michigan, such a pretty state!

  3. Great job on your race! I’ve always wanted to go paddleboarding, looks like so much fun!

Leave a Reply

