Race Round-Up

After a long day at the office, I’m back to recap the not one, but TWO races, that I ran this weekend. I had full intentions of writing this earlier before work, but that didn’t happen, as the time just slipped away from me. So here we go…

On Friday, I got up around 6 or so, to head over to the Firecracker 7k on Devil’s Lake (sort of!). My Dad was nice enough to sign up for the race as well, and my Mom also joined us to watch – she was a little upset we didn’t sign her up to walk. We drove about 5 minutes to the starting line, and hung out for awhile pre-race. I did a little jogging for a warmup, and then before we knew it, it was time to start.

2014-07-04 08.40.45

I’m notorious for sizing up the competition before a race. Usually I feel like I get it 50/50, on calling out who the fast runner’s are. It was pretty obvious for this race, as all of the elite women were from Dave’s Race Team. There were 3 women from this team, who all started at the front of the pack, and never let up. The race started right about 7, and we were off. At the beginning of the race, I was 2 people back from the starting line and was shocked to see a man with a stroller going in front, but he ended up finishing towards the front of the pack, quite impressive.

We started and right away, I was about 10th in the race. I started quick, a little bit too quick, and came in around 6:40 for the first mile. Most of the course was flat, as we were going around Round Lake, but there were a few rolling hills. These rolling hills really slowed me down, but the next couple of miles were between 7:30 and 7:40. I felt good most of the way, and then kicked it a little bit for the last mile. I think, and say think because there are no official results online (are we in the 21st century??), that I came in around 30:30. I was more than happy with the race. My Mom and I waited around for my Dad to finish (he was around 36:00, a big improvement from last week). The post race refreshments were firecracker popsicles – perfect for the 4th of July, and snappers. I was 1st in my age group, and won a medal!

2014-07-04 07.43.03


 

Saturday was the Posey Lake Race – a 4 mile race, around the lake. I didn’t end up signing up for this race ahead of time, so we got there around 8, when registration opened. A first for this adopted New England girl, the registration was outside of someone’s house on the lake – so Midwest and I loved it! When we pulled up, the woman who had won the race the day before for the females, was getting out of her car as well, so I knew there would be competition. I signed up, and then we decided to take the course map and go for a ride on the course. The only thing we didn’t realize was that this was a “cross country” course to some extent, so we got a little bit stuck, but it wasn’t too bad. Much to my father’s chagrin, my Mom and I convinced him to get off of the course soon after starting – it was a good thing. We found our way back around the lake and got back to the start.

At this point there was still a bit of time before the race started at 9. I found a man asking me about my Brook’s Ghosts, so we got to talking (while waiting in line for the porta potty). He was a cross country coach in Texas (something I would love to do some day, although not in Texas). I then headed for the start line. There were about 300 people, the same as the day before, and I stayed up at the start line. Before the race started, we had someone lead us in a little bit of stretching – it was interesting – we’ll see if I can get the brief video my Mom took up here. Once the stretching was over, we were off.

This race was just about the same distance as the day before, but it felt extremely different, since we were starting 2 hours later. As we mostly drink at the lake and don’t hydrate, I felt pretty dehydrated for the run. I wore my Garmin for the first time in awhile, for both of these races, and was loving it. I was much more consistent with the miles for this race and really enjoyed the cross country aspect, but man was I hurting from the heat. We got through the 4 miles, and by the time we were done, I was more than happy to be finished.

I was the 7th female in this race, but again, the 1st female in my age group, 25 – 29 years old. For having 2 races in a weekend, I was very happy with the race, and couldn’t have asked for much more. I still do need to work on “being comfortable with the uncomfortable,” but I’ll get to that eventually. The best part of this awards ceremony, was that as the winner of an age group, I won a float with a cooler / cup holders. It’s hands down the best prize I’ve ever won at a race, and other races will have to do a lot to top this one.

2014-07-05 09.30.52

Overall, it was a great weekend to race on the Southern Michigan running scene and I would love to do it again soon. Not sure when I’ll make it back to the lake, but I will surely look for races when I’m there. I am going to Michigan in September for a race, but I’ll be about 2 hours away in Grand Rapids.

2014-07-05 11.00.51

 

Did you race this weekend? What’s the best prize you’ve won at a race?

Final Signature

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Race Round-Up

  1. sounds like a great race weekend and very nice that your parents came out too! I love running prizes! Medals, coffee cups, shirts- it is all good!

Leave a Reply

