Weekend Recap

I’m typing this to you all from a plane en route to Boston. I was fortunate enough to get to hang out with my family at our lake house in Michigan for the Fourth! I wasn’t expecting to be able to do this, as of about a month ago, but with the change with everything aka new job, I decided to head to Michigan, since I’m not starting work until Monday.

That being said, since I’m a worry wart and have the worst luck with flying, I decided it was smarter to come back tonight, instead of waiting until the last minute, like I normally do. So here I am, sitting to the safety instruction on my flight (LOVE the fact that you can now use everything while just taxi-ing and after the flight, makes things a little bit more enjoyable).

This weekend turned out to be pretty much everything I expected and more. Here’s a bit of a recap. I flew in on Wednesday around noon, to Detroit, and the fam picked me up after their 4 hour drive from Cincinnati. Immediately, I could tell that everyone had been a bit couped up, but were all in good spirits. We headed for Buffalo Wild Wings, after a bit of a debate about lunch. I was thrilled though, because I wanted this last week in Cincinnati, and it got rejected by the littlest, much to my chagrin.

After lunch, we were finally off to the lake. The weekend consisted mostly of laying out, eating, drinking, water, running, and boats. This is all I can ask for when I go to the lake a couple of times a summer, and it was wonderful. I got to see and spend a good amount of time with a lot of my extended family, who I don’t see often enough – so I was in heaven.

On Thursday afternoon, when the sun was struggling to come out, the girls in the family decided to head over to a new boutique on the lake, The Buoy. Some folks have come over to this area of the lake, and have decided they want to make it look like Nantucket. I’m not sure it will ever be that, but alas, it does look super cute.

The Buoy is a charming little shop, which has all kinds of gifts. I saw quite a few things, that would look great in a house, but alas not in the apartment I have now. I’ll have to keep my eye on some of the items. My wonderful aunt, did however, get me a few birthday presents, a little belated, but alas with love. I got a few signs to add to my apartment, mostly about the lake. If I remember, once they are up, I’ll have to put up pictures.

While we were in the shop, I noticed a sign for a road race, at the lake, on the Fourth of July. I had been eyeing a road race about a half hour away, but didn’t want to impose on my parents to drive me, so I was thrilled to see this. The Firecracker 7k, was on Friday, and was a great little race of about 300 people. I also found a flyer for a race at Posey Lake, a town or two over, on Saturday. I’ll be back to recap both of these races tomorrow, so for now this will have to do.

Wonderful weekend, with wonderful people, and now I’m headed to Boston, so that I can jump in my car and head to the Cape for tomorrow! I really can’t complain right now.

How was your 4th of July? Did you avoid Arthur? Any unexpected, but great surprises from the weekend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Recap

  1. xchurdle says:

    Sounds like an awesome holiday! Can’t wait to hear about the race!!

  2. xchurdle says:

    Sounds like a great weekend! Can’t wait to hear about the race!

Leave a Reply

