May Recap / June Happenings

Seems only fitting as the month begins, to start with a recap of May.

May Recap:

Harpoon 5 Miler – 38:38

After running this race last year, I knew it wasn’t going to be a quick race. The organizers do a great job every year, but for the course, there are just too many people. That being said, I went in with no expectations and that’s exactly what it turned out to be. I ran the whole course with Emily and Katie, which was great – we chatted and just enjoyed the run. I ended up being completely happy with my race and can’t wait for next year. The party afterwards, complete with lots of Harpoon Beer, was a great way to finish / start the day.

Johnny Kelley Half Marathon – 1:42:48

For Memorial Day, Sam and I traveled down to see his family on Cape Cod. Since I didn’t have much going on on the running front and Sam’s family completely understands the whole running deal (his Mom is a big runner), I signed up for a half marathon in Hyannis for Sunday. It was a great, small race, with a beautiful course. I was hoping to negative split the whole time, but didn’t run with a watch (running term – naked), so it made it a little difficult to do this. I ended up winning 2nd in the Filly division (140+ lbs), but after checking the results, I didn’t think this was going to happen, so we missed the awards ceremony.

June Happenings:

Cambridge 5k – Freedom Run – 22:07

Started off the month with a 5k in Cambridge with the Nachos, my running club (more on them in another post). I was hoping to break 21 with this race, but that just didn’t happen on Sunday. I don’t want to bring excuses into this, even though it was a very hot day (there’s my excuse). I felt good the whole time, although didn’t have a watch and there were no mile markers. This was really my only complaint for the course. Based on where we started the run, I started to kick as soon as I saw the T stop, which was just a little bit too soon. We rounded the corner and I was expecting to see the finish less than a 100 yards away. I’m not one for eye balling measurements, but I’m going to go with it was another 200 yards beyond that (maybe more). The kick was a little too soon and it didn’t make it until the end. Overall, I was very happy with the race and I got Sam to run it as well, so it was a win win. The party after had tons of beer from Notch, Slumbrew, and Night Shift – all local to Cambridge. And I finally got to meet the Nacho babies! It made for a great start to the month.

 

As for the rest of the month, there’s lots going on:

Runners World Festival at Boston College

Newport Weekend

BAA 10K

Morgan Corporate Challenge

I have my eye on a few more races too, so we’ll see what the month has in store.

 

How was your May? Any fun races for June? 

 

All for tonight

xoxo

Kyndal

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

